I am very happy that I was able to come to England at this time of year. As the days progressively get closer to the Olympics and the Queens Jubilee, the country’s pride seems to be growing. I have noticed that on my walks to school a lot of shops have some very nice window displays full of Union Flags and other souvenirs.

Coincidentally in my English class the other day we read a poem by Owen Sheers called “Flag”. There are only three other people in this class so we got a little sidetracked and they began to ask me questions about how different I find America to England. A person may not think that these two countries differ in many ways, but you would be surprised. Most of the differences are minor, such as spelling and different words. The different words are what get me, everyday I feel like I am being corrected on at least one word that I use in the wrong context. Although, in America it would be seen as correct. Which I don’t mind, it is all a part of the experience.

The interesting part to the conversation that I had with my English class was how I feel that America recognizes our flag. Well, there are a lot of stereotypes that Americans are a little too patriotic, and I have been asked more than once if I have a flag hanging up outside my house. I do not have a flag outside my house, sorry to all of you stereotyping fanatics out there.

However, I do agree that Americans as a whole are very patriotic. Up to my 8th grade year every morning at the beginning of school I would say the pledge of allegiance while facing the flag. The flag can be seen outside of a firehouse, and in front schools, and well just about any important building.

Yes, America is patriotic, but England is too. Even though anyone you would ask would say otherwise, and probably give you a long lecture on why the royal family is not essential to the countries well-being. The union jack can be seen on just about anything right now with all of the events coming up. I have seen it painted onto cars, and any store you go to you will defiantly be able to find a lot of British souvenirs.

If you are American just think about the hype that comes up right before the 4th of July, and multiply that by two.

For every country a flag is the symbol of that country. I don’t think anyone could have too much pride for their country. In so many ways your country makes you who you are. It’s the reason I spell the word “Color” and not “Colour”, and why I call it a “band-aid” and not a “Plaster”. I am just fine with this.

With all the hype for the Olympics and the jubilee, buying souvenirs to bring back home for my family will be so much easier.

Have a great day!

And a very happy mother’s day for all of you in America.

I love you mom!

