Tags

, , , , ,

For the letter “S” I thought I would enlighten people to who I am. Over the past few months I have gained a fair amount of new readers, who probably do not really know who I am. Other than the girl who writes about crazy, random things. It is hard to really connect with a blogger, because all you do is read what they want you to read. Maybe after reading this, you will understand me a little better.

My parents got a divorce (just like so many other parents these days) when I was in the fifth grade. My parents have been enemies ever since. At this time last year I may have said that I hated them for this, now I am able to accept that this is how it will always be. All the problems that I have been through with my parents divorce has shaped me into the person I am today, I would not change a thing.

Since my parents divorce, each year I have lived somewhere new. It has also become tradition to not have a real home during the summer, this is the time when I stay with my family in Los Angeles and I just live out of my suitcase. For some, moving to a new house and never really having a permanent place may be horrible. For me, this is just how my life is, and you know what? I like it. Every year I live another story, I can’t be bored if my life is always different.

I do not cuss, drink, or smoke. Neither am I tempted to do any of these things. These are morals I have set for myself. People may call me boring, or laugh at me for “not living” but I have watched as drugs and drinking have destroyed people’s lives, and I do not want to go down that same road. I am the girl who has too many plans to waste it on such simple things.

I am the girl who decided life was too short to live an uncomplicated life. I decided that I did not want to do what I was “supposed” to do, doing the same thing as everyone else. So, I made a decision that would change my life. I decided to study abroad. For some people this may not seem like a life changing experience, but for me it was.

I was able to prove to myself that the future is uncertain, and I could make it into anything I wanted.

My family does not have very much money. Never could my parents actually think that my dream of studying abroad would really come true. I saved up my money. Going without the things that a normal teenager would want, like new clothes. I went without simple things because I wanted something much better.

In the end I was not able to save up enough of the money. My dad did everything he could to get this money, even going as far as selling things that meant so much to him.

Some nights I would stay up trying to decide if this was what I really wanted. I was mad at myself for having such a selfish and unrealistic dream.

Then I learned just how amazing people can be. Some people in my family came together to help make my dream come true. With the help of my dad and my family I saw my dream begin to come true.

This all happened about three days before I was to leave for England. In a matter of days I saw my dream crash to the ground, and then I saw it start to rebuild itself from the ashes.

I packed my life into two suitcases and a few short days later I found myself on a plane, soaring high over the clouds. I was finally able to  accept that my dream had come true. I boarded the plane with a smile, and it has not left my face since.

I was on a plane bound for England. I had very little idea of what the next few months would bring me. It did not matter if I had second thoughts, because I was not turning back. Sometimes the best decisions you can make will be the hardest.

I can defiantly say that this was a great decision. I have loved every minute.

I have a crazy life, but doesn’t everyone?

We all have a story to tell, and sometimes we just have to share it with others to make it seem not so crazy.

Now you know who I am.

